Week 49: Preparing for Hanoi Zone Conference

 

07/17/2017

Hey look at all those 7s! Nifty, that must mean it’s gonna be a lucky week this next week. As for this last week, it actually turned out to be one of those weeks where not too much happened. We have the Hanoi Zone Conference happening this Tuesday, so a lot of our time has been spent indoors preparing and planning (remember a couple weeks back when I said that missionary is a lot more indoor work than people expect? There you go).

I’ve felt pretty restless and itching to get out there and do normal missionary work, but sometimes you just gotta bite the bullet and do what you gotta do. One thing I’m definitely learning is that as a leader (or whatever excuse of a leader I may be😊) in the mission, your priority is not necessarily the investigators you teach as a companionship, but the missionaries that the Lord has charged you to take care of. It kinda follows along the same principles of being a trainer. Your trainee is your priority, not necessarily your investigators. It’s still something that I’m trying to figure. I wish by some magical way there was a means by which we could focus our attention on everything that we need to without compromising on the other things. Oh well, that how it is as humans😁

I guess the only huge thing I wanted to share this week was my experience with church lately. I seriously underestimated the power behind coming to church every week. Maybe it has something to do with going to small branch where you get to really know everyone on a personal level, but as I was sitting in church this week and just thinking to myself, I was noticed that I’ve been feeling different coming to church the past weeks. It’s a subtle difference, but there it was as I was listening to speaker and sitting in a position where I could see the entire congregation. I felt a great bubble of love towards all the people that I’ve had the opportunity to serve for the past 5 or so weeks. It’s something that I definitely I’ve taken for granted the past few months and even before my mission. I can’t describe it well, but after feeling that special Spirit, the rest of that Sacrament meeting hour, I couldn’t stop smiling.
I love the people in this Hanoi branch and I love being here.
I’m sorry to say that I don’t have any pictures to send home this week. Spending a lot of time indoors doesn’t give one a lot of opportunities to take cool pictures, but hopefully this lucky week will give me some good stuff to take a shot at. Love you all!
Elder Phan

Leave a Reply

