Week 45 : transfer back to Hà Nội

 

Dear everybody

It was a very good week this week. Transfers officially happened this Thursday, which means I had to say bye to my companion Elder Thai, the missionaries in Saigon, and the members of the Tan Son Nhat branch. There seriously are some fantastic members here, and I was super sad to leave them all.

(last moment with and cả Thái and church member in Saigon)

On the bright side, I can’t tell you how great it was to come back to the Hanoi branch and see all my old friends from when I first started my mission. This place has grown so much since I was last here! So many new people in the branch that got baptized in recent months, so it’s a nice blend of old faces and new faces. I was lucky enough to come into the area at a time when our companionship was getting someone baptized this past Saurday, so that was really cool to see. I think an appropriate verse to describe the transition is best described by a scripture in the BOM, Alma  36:21-“Yea, I say unto you, my son, that there could be nothing so exquisite and so bitter as were my pains. Yea, and again I say unto you, my son, that on the other hand, there can be nothing so exquisite and sweet as was my joy.”

20170618-5

                      (my new companion, anh cả Công, the tallest one)
So yeah, it’s a good life right now, besides the fact that Hanoi is super hot and humid this time of year. We’ve had great cloud cover for the past few days though, so I’m grateful for that. My new companion, Elder Cong, is super awesome though. We get along super well and I’m excited to work with him. We haven’t had too much time going out so that I could get familiar with the new area, but all I know is we live in this giant complex called Times City, which is basically and super high-end mini-city Utopia complex inside on Hanoi. From what I’ve seen so far, it’s the best housing and area in the mission so far.
20170618-6
                                                       ( Baptism of anh Giang in Hanoi)
As soon as I got here, the branch threw me under the bus and I got recruited to play the hymns in Sacrament the next day, as well as a special musical number that I had no time to prep for. The number all in all went well, but the pages kept blowing off the piano because of the air conditioner behind me, so I was playing and catching pages and holding them up all at the same time. Finally, one of the other Elders stepped in and held up the pages for me while I played on the piano. It was a fiasco, but if there’s one thing I’ve learned, when you’re a missionary, you’re making a fool of yourself in one form or another, so at least I’m used to the humiliation at this point haha!
 
In other news, my old investigator down South, Anh Khoa, passed his baptismal interview and is getting baptized this next Sunday! Whoo-hoo! That’s another one for the books! I think that’s just about all for this week, but I hope everyone is doing great, as usual! I love you all (also as usual). Have a good Father’s Day to all the fathers out there and keep it real!
 
Love,
Elder Phan
 

 

Leave a Reply

