Week 3

Whoo it’s finally here! My last P-day here in the MTC and then come Monday morning I’m shipping out to Vietnam. It’s a really humbling thought because honestly, I’m not sure if I’m anywhere near prepared enough to get out there and get to work. Out there is the real world and I’ll have the opportunity to see things that I’ve never seen before. I don’t want to make it seem like I’m wussing out. I am excited to see what happens. From what it my dad has said, there’s going to be a typhoon in Hanoi on Friday and Saturday, so that going to be really awesome to fly in to!

But anyways, about my final week here in the MTC. It’s been an amazing experience here, as always. It’s gotten to the point now that P-day (with all the sudden free time I get to do laundry, write home, and take it a little easier) feels unnatural. My body is used to the schedule and the work. But I love the opportunity  get to write home so it more than makes up for it. This week we got 2 new investigators named Kylee and Brandon. Kylee is extremely excited to learn more and even though we were only able to teach her for 3 days (she had to move back to indianapolis early), she has committed to continue reading from the Book of Mormon and praying. She also committed to continue meeting with missionaraies in Indianapolis and going to church with her boss, who is LDS. Brandon goes to BYU here and has heard a lot about the Church from his friend. We’re still teaching him this week, and our past few lessons with him have really invited the Spirit. It’s a little hard teaching him because he’s more inclined to listen to the lesson rather than interact with us and ask questions about how we can help him, but over the past week he’s opened up more, and we’ve been able to get him thinking about the gospel of Jesus Christ and what it could mean in his life. With that said, he’s enjoying meeting with us and we enjoy meeting with him. He accepted an invitation to prepare to be baptized.
On Tuesday, there was a rumor going around the MTC that Elder Holland was going to be giving the devotional address that night, so everyone was getting pumped to hear him. People were skipping dinner so that they could get in line an hour early to get seats to hear him speak. My district did that and then we found out that it was Sister Bonnie L. Oscarson speaking, not Elder Holland. The devotional was still really good. She talked about having the humility to realize that God was a specific plan for each one of us, and she asked the important question of how willing we were to align our wills with his to ensure that we are the happiest we can be. After all, God sees much more than what we can with our limited perspective. She shared a video about Hugh B. Brown and his experience with a currant bush, narrated by Elder Christofferson that explains it much better than I can. I encourage everyone to watch it, it’s really good. Speaking of recommended videos to watch, I apologize for the last week. I recommended everyone to watch Character of Christ by Elder Bednar, but I didn’t realize that it was a video that was exclusive for the MTC.
It’s going to be tough leaving the MTC, not so much because I’m nervous about going to Vietnam (I’m sure most missionaries feel nervous before they go out), but mainly because I’m going to miss everyone in my district and zone. Last Sunday, we sent off a few missionaries who were awesome and it was difficult to say bye. I’m sure they will do great in their desires to serve the Lord. Now that it’s our turn soon, I’ve thought a lot about how much I’ve come to love the people in my district especially, especially my companion Elder Sproul. His visa isn’t back yet, so he’s going to have to serve a transfer in North Dakota before he heads out to Taiwan. I’ve learned so much from him and he’s been a excellent companion and friend. It’s incredible how close you can get to people when you’ve only spent a couple weeks with them. But my experience has been that when you spend every day with them doing the things of God, you make friendships that last for much longer. It’s happened at EFY, at HEFY, at priest quorum summer campouts, and now here at the MTC. I’ll miss these Elders, especially since we’re all fast-tracked, none of us are going to the same mission. We’re going all over the world and chances are we might not ever see each other physically ever again. But I’m excited to finally get out there and go to work. The Church is TRUE! I know it is, otherwise I wouldn’t be out here in the first place. Thank you everyone for the love and support and I can’t wait to email you again and tell you about Vietnam. I’m not sure when my P-day is there, so keep an eye out! I love you all!
Elder Phan

Leave a Reply

